Author Topic: billing category assignments / rates  (Read 5481 times)

Jim Rising

• View Profile
billing category assignments / rates
« on: March 18, 2009, 02:56:34 am »
i am not sure why this was done this way... it's a bit odd.

here's the way that i think it 'should' be done...

each employee / contractor has a 'cost' ... i pay each of them an hourly rate, or they charge me a flat rate for tasks. fine. openGoo now seems to allow me to track my costs per user if i'm working with employees / contractors who have straight hourly rates. sort of... the report for this isn't really working right... but at least it's a start. i wouldn't really call it 'billing' so much as 'job costing' at this point though.

however... many contractors will bill different rates depending on services, even if performed by the same individual. our company is one of those types... i'm primarily a software designer / architect and charge at a much higher rate for this service, but if no-one else is available to maintain a bug fix for a client we have a maintenance agreement with, i'm not going to bill them my full architect rate for this service... i'm going to bill them the rate that is on the maintenance agreement. there are other contractors and companies we work with who bill us the same way... depending on services. flash work is a different rate from .psd slicing into xHtml. for proper job costing, we would need this on that side ... where employees / contractors can be given different cost rates for different services that they are performing for us. (matching them with our own billing categories).

my suggestion would be that rates need to be specific to the following:

employee / contractor rate